5 months. SAY WHAT?!

      Yes you are seeing those words correctly… It has been 5 months since I started my journey to Israel. I remember getting to the airport and being really nervous. There was a lot going through my mind, but I was also excited to see where this experience was going to take me. Since I am half way through I figured I would reflect a little bit on the past 5 months and give a thought about what the next 5 months has to come.

      These past five months have been a once in a life time experience. It is not every day that you get to wake up and look out at the Mediterranean Sea. Well that is what I have been able to do for the past 5 months (It will continue). It is also a once in a lifetime to be in Israel and teach English to kids. I have gotten to see Israel how I want to see it. I have gotten to go to places on my time and see the places I want to see. Sure we have tours of places, but I can come back to places after seeing them, if I like them or want to experience them again. It is nice having freedom to explore Israel.

     There have been many emotions in the past 5 months. I have been happy. I have been sad. I have been mad. I have been excited. I have been nervous. I have been anxious. I have been pumped. I have been really every emotion that a human can experience. I am glad that I have had every emotion because that is how people experience things. I think experiencing all the different emotions allows you  to be stronger, but it shows that you are not faking it. I am excited to see what other emotions I will experience during my next 5 months.

       I have decided that this a year of yes. When I get presented with opportunity, no matter what it is, I want to say yes. I want to challenge myself. I want to improve skills that I have and learn new ones. This year is about me and improving my life. Yes is a great answer to new adventures and trying new things. I am excited to keep saying yes over the next 5 months.

    The next 5 months I am ready to see where life takes me. There are going to be adventures and I am going to say YES!!! I am looking forward to growing and experiencing Israel the way that I want to.

Well here is a little update on the past couple of weeks:

-Some of the kids at my school celebrated the 100th day of school with really elaborate projects. Like amazing!!!! I have attached some pictures

-Some friends and I went to the Lod night shuk. It was really cute and then we all got food and sat together. Literally the Americans/Masa programs TOOK over the night shuk. It was super fun!

-Some other Masa people went on a bar crawl through Tel Aviv. It was fun and interesting. We went to a couple of different bars. I didn’t get anything but it was fun to go on.

-Tu’bshvat, the birthday of the trees, was this past week. We planted some plants at our apartment and we eat some dry fruit to have the fruits of the trees.

-This weekend I went to Jerusalem to hang out with some good friends at HUC. We had grilled cheese shabbat…. It was amazing. Then Saturday we went to the concert that they were hosting to Remember Debbie Friedman. It was a great concert and I learned some new Debbie songs.

-I made the newspaper (Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle). Don’t worry I will be here all week if you want an autograph =D

IMG_6940IMG_6944IMG_6946(100 days of school)IMG_6977(Masa taking over the night shuk)IMG_6985(I could live on the bus if I wanted… =)IMG_7186(Well I did it, I am famous =D. If you want to read the article, it will be on jewishchronicle.org…(not there yet at least)

Leave a Reply

